lundi, avril 16, 2007

Rock News 04 2007, some more

The Chemical Brothers, Tori Amos, Arctic Monkeys, Starsailor,
Queens Of The Stone Age, Manic Street Preachers, Sum 41, Spoon,
The White Stripes, and Supergrass.

The Chemical Brothers reveal new album details. It's due out this summer.

The Chemical Brothers have announced details of their forthcoming album.

The follow-up to 2005's 'Push The Button' is titled 'We Are The Night' and is due out in June via Freestyle Dust/Virgin Records...

Further album details and US tour dates are expected to be announced shortly.

Tori Amos reveals album tracklisting. 'American Doll Posse' features 23 songs.

Tori Amos has revealed details of her new album, which is set to be released in May.

'American Doll Posse' is the singer's first new studio release since 2005's 'The Beekeeper', although she released a greatest hits box set last year....

The tracklisting for the album is:

'Yo George'
'Big Wheel'
'Bouncing off Clouds'
'Teenage Hustling'
'Digital Ghost'
'You Can Bring Your Dog'
'Mr. Bad Man'
'Fat Slut'
'Girl Disappearing'
'Secret Spell'
'Devils and Gods'
'Body and Soul'
'Father's Son'
'Programmable Soda'
'Code Red'
'Roosterspur Bridge'
'Beauty of Speed'
'Almost Rosey'
'Velvet Revolution'
'Dark Side of the Sun'
'Posse Bonus'
'Smokey Joe'

'American Doll Posse' will be released on May 1 in the States, and in the UK a day earlier.

Arctic Monkeys reveal reason for speedy studio sessions. The band wanted to get their second album out fast.

Arctic Monkeys have revealed to NME the real reason they got new album 'Favourite Worst Nightmare' finished so quickly.

The record is out on April 23, just 15 months after the release of debut album 'Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not' came out.

However frontman Alex Turner admitted the band actually wanted the new record to come out in the same week of the year as the last one did - but they didn't quite manage it.

He said: "The only pressure was what we put on ourselves because we wanted to do it quick and try get it out at the same time as the last one came out. That were the plan.

"Ultimately, we thought if we carried that on for a few years it might become like a Bank Holiday or something. It'd be a national holiday! The first one came out February 12 or something (it actually came out on January 30 after being brought forward a week) so we were trying to get this one to come out February 12, but a year later. We missed it by two months, we were fucking about."

Starsailor begin work on new album. They demo three new songs.

Starsailor have begun work on their new album.

The band have begun recording demos for the follow up to 2005's 'On The Outside'.

Posting on their Myspace blog frontman James Walsh wrote:

"We have completed another set of demos in Henley which produced 3 new songs. The one which everyone is raving about is called 'Lights Out' or 'Tell Me It's Not Over' (we haven't decided yet!).

"It's got a massive drum beat, reminiscent of Doves and U2. Another couple of these and we will have a truly great album."

In an earlier post the band said that they had written 15 songs for the album, and demoed the songs 'Let Go', 'Do You Believe In Love?', 'Won't Stop Now' and 'Change My Mind'.

A release date has not been announced.

Queens Of The Stone Age preview new album at SXSW. NME.COM hears first official playback.

Queens Of The Stone Age's new album was unveiled this afternoon (March 15) in Austin, Texas, and NME.COM was there to hear it.

Nine tracks from the band's fifth studio album, 'Era Vulgaris' ('common era' or 'age without god'), were previewed at the exclusive listening party, held at the South By Southwest Fader House.

The album includes the track 'Make It Witchu' from The Desert Sessions, this time with Josh Homme replacing Mark Lanegan on the vocal.

As previously reported, The Strokes' frontman Julian Casablancas also features on the record.

The songs previewed were:

'Turning On The Screw'
'Sick Sick Sick'
'Into The Hollow'
'Battery Acid'
'River In The Road'
'Suture Up Your Future'
'3s and 7s'
'I'm Designer'
'Make It Witchu'

'Era Vulgaris' is due to be released in June.

Manic Street Preachers confirm new album details. Trio also reveal single.

Manic Street Preachers have confirmed the details of their new album 'Send Away The Tigers'.

The band have revealed the tracklisting for the record, which is released on May 7.

The album will be preceded by single 'Your Love Alone Is Not Enough' on April 30, which sees the band team up with The Cardigans singer Nina Persson.

The full tracklisting for their new album is:

'Send Away The Tigers'
'Your Love Alone Is Not Enough'
'Indian Summer'
'The Second Great Depression'
'I Am Just A Patsy'
'Imperial Bodybags'

Sum 41 complete album. Now band begin search for new guitarist.

Sum 41 have announced they have completed the follow-up to 2004 album 'Chuck'.

The self-produced effort was recorded in Los Angeles at Ocean Way, and follows the first new material by the band since the departure of guitarist Dave Baksh.

A post on their Myspace blog from frontman Deryk Whibley reads: "We have finished our new album. We still don't have a name for it yet though. It will be coming out this summer."

Whibley added that they were starting auditions to find a replacement for Baksh.

He then wrote: "We have no idea how long this will take so I can't really tell you when we will be back on tour. If all goes well we should be back playing shows in mid-April. We will keep you all updated here as frequently as possible. Thanks for all your support, and I can't wait for you to hear this album."

Spoon reveal new album details. It's due out this summer.

Spoon have revealed details of their forthcoming album.

The follow-up to 2005's 'Gimme Fiction' is due out on July 10 and will feature 10 songs with titles including 'Don't You Evah' and 'Black Like Me'...

The tracklisting is:

1. 'Don't Make Me a Target'
2. 'The Ghost of You Lingers'
3. 'You Got Yr Cherry Bomb'
4. 'Don't You Evah'
5. 'Rhthm and Soul'
6. 'Eddie's Ragga'
7. 'The Underdog'
8. 'My Little Japanese Cigarette Case'
9. 'Finer Feelings'
10. 'Black Like Me'

White Stripes album tracklisting revealed. 'Icky Thump' details are out.

The tracklisting has been unveiled for the forthcoming White Stripes album 'Icky Thump'...

The tracklisting is:

'Icky Thump'
'You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just Do as You're Told)'
'300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues'
'Bone Broke'
'Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn'
'St. Andrew (This Battle Is in the Air)'
'Little Cream Soda'
'Rag and Bone'
'I'm Slowly Turning Into You'
'A Martyr for My Love for You'
'Catch Hell Blues'
'Effect and Cause'

Supergrass head into the studio. New record will be finished in a month.

Supergrass have revealed that they are to make an imminent return to the studio to record new material. Predicting that the process will be finished in little over a month, the band said they're aiming for an "energetic" sound for their new record, which will be their first since 2005's 'Road To Rouen'. Speaking to Steve Lamacq on BBC 6Music, lead singer Gaz Coombes explained: "Over the last few months we've been writing and stuff. We've been over each others places, y'know, we've got little studios at home, so we kinda get ideas and do little demos and just get the vibes up and just look to recording and bits of pre-production, which is where we're at now."

The band are now gearing up to take the new tracks into the studio. Coombes added: "We're off to Berlin in a couple of weeks to do the recording and its going to be a quick session, two or three week session, and just knock it out as fast as we can.

"That's where the enthusiasm is; in what you've got coming, in what the future holds. That's what it's like for this next record; there's just some really kind of vibrant, sort of exciting bits of music happening. Just can't wait to get it down."