samedi, août 20, 2005

Garbage, Apple, Goldfrapp

Shirley Manson Dragged Off Stage by Police

by Paul Cashmere

16 August 2005

When Shirley Manson was dragged off stage in Washington earlier this year for flashing her breasts on stage, it was all for a good cause. Garbage was making a video.

Unbeknownst to the audience, Manson was wearing a flesh coloured bra when she showed off her 'greatest tits' set and the police were really actors.

Garbage was making the video for 'Sex Is Not The Enemy' with director Sophie Mueller, who filmed the incident from the crowd with a mini DV.

"We didn't tell the audience that this was a setup, that we were shooting a video," Butch Vig explained in a statement issued by his record label FMR. "It was weird; there was this huge, like, 'Ahhh.' I heard this groan and moan, and then everybody started going 'Booooo' and yelling 'Bull-shit!' and throwing stuff up on the stage. Most people thought that she had been arrested. The song is about trying to find your own freedom as an individual and to avoid the repression that's coming down on individual rights from the right-wing, so-called Moral Majority."

'Sex Is Not The Enemy' is the third single from the Garbage 'Bleed Like Me' album.

Fiona Apple Record Will Finally Be Released

by Paul Cashmere

16 August 2005

Fiona Apple fans can head to her new website to hear two new tracks in their entirety.

Apple has included the songs 'O Sailor' and 'Parting Gift' at The songs are from her long-awaited forthcoming third album Extraordinary Machine.

Apple's last album 'When the Pawn' was released 6 years ago in 1999. 'Extraordinary Machine' has been coming for more than a year after it was shelved by Sony a year ago. The 11 tracks from the original Jon Brion produced album quickly surfaced online.

The new version of the album was produced by Mike Elizondo (Eminem, 50 Cent). It features 9 re-recorded songs from the original album plus two new tracks.

"Now that my album is finally finished, I am very, very excited to have people hear what we did - I am so proud of it, and all of us who worked on it." says Fiona Apple.

The album will be release by Epic on October 4.

Goldfrapp : Surenature


By Eve Jenkin

Goldfrapp have become certified masters of the sexy psychedelic electronica they created with debut “Felt Mountain” and built upon with follow-up “Black Cherry”. Their latest album “Supernature” uses this foolproof formula but alters it in the just the right way to keep it sounding fresh.

As glammed-up as always, “Supernature” opens with first single “Ooh La La”, making the slight disco slant on the album apparent immediately. But Goldfrapp still have that otherworldly, ethereal freshness about them - partially because of the sleek production, but primarily due to Alison Goldfrapp’s breathy vocals.

One of the most obvious things about “Supernature” though is it’s destined to keep Goldfrapp at the head of their game, and highlights their effervescent originality, enthusiasm and tongue-in-cheek flair.

Track Listing

1. Ooh La La
2. Lovely 2 C U
3. Ride A White Horse
4. U Never Know
5. Let It Take U
6. Fly Me Away
7. Slide In
8. Koko
9. Satin Chic
10. Time Out From The World
11. Number 1

mardi, août 02, 2005

The Futureheads

The Futureheads are here and they have arrived at the perfect time. In this day and age of stylish rock bands that sport a poppy rather than punky sound, The Furtureheads’ self titled debut serves not as a welcome change, but a welcome addition.

An impressive entrance onto the scene “The Futureheads” is rock and roll fun with pop sensibilities – which depending on whether or not you like emotion fuelled music could mean their rise or their downfall.

Songs such as the opener “Le Garage” will have you singing along quicker than you can realize the lyrics are “Le Garage” not “The Garage” – and this is precisely what sets The Futureheads apart from bands who deviate too much from music’s basic purpose – they entertain

The Futureheads are certainly a band one should look out for in…well…the future because there is no doubt about it – they are destined for big things if their debut is anything to go by.

Track Listing

1. Le Garage
2. Robot
3. A To B
4. Decent Days & Nights
5. Meantime
6. Alms
7. Danger Of The Water
8. Carnival Kids
9. The City Is Here For You To Use
10. First Day
11. He Knows
12. Stupid & Shallow
13. Trying Not To Think About Time
14. Hounds Of Love (New Mix)
15. Man Ray

By Eve Jenkin @ Undercover